ABRSM Piano Exams

All my online and face-to-face students (both adults and children) have the opportunity to take official exams with the ABRSM. 

With the new performance grades options, my student can take exams whenever they want, and they received.

Working towards an exam can provide an achievable goal and can help encourage and motivate students.

The elements of the exam include:

– Pieces

– Scales and arpeggios (from memory)

– Sight-reading

– Aural tests

For more information about the exam requirements, click here.

Who is the ABRSM?

ABRSM: Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music is the largest music education body in the United Kingdom, one of the largest music publishers and the world’s leading provider of music exams. In addition to this, they carry out more than 650,000 assessments in more than 90 countries each year.

In collaboration with four royal music schools, they support music creation and learning around the world. They offer avenues and resources for students and teachers that help develop musical skills and encourage progress.

Their main activity is to provide qualified music exams, evaluations and diplomas. An ABRSM qualification has worldwide acceptance, and its exams are designed to motivate students at all levels and ages, providing realistic goals and tangible rewards for their achievements.

Exam regulation and approximate equivalence

ABRSM qualifications are evaluated to the same standards worldwide. Their work is monitored and reviewed by various regulatory authorities to ensure the quality of education and the qualifications offered.

In England, Wales and Northern Ireland, ABRSM graded exams and diplomas are within the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF).

In the rest of Europe, as with the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) of the United Kingdom, the European Qualifications Framework (EQF) has eight levels at which qualifications can be mapped. The levels do not correspond directly to the RQF, although they are similar.

Below is a list of practical piano grades along with their approximate grades.

In addition to practical exams, you can also take theory exams. To take the practical grade 6 exam, you must have passed grade 5 theory.

Note that it is not essential to take these exams in order, for example, if you already have an intermediate level of piano playing, you can start at grades 3, 4 or 5.

Grades 1-3

  • RQF / EQF – ABRSM Level 1 Award in Music Performance (Grade 1)
  • GCSE (grades D – G and 3 – 1)
  • Functional Skills Level 1
  • BTEC Firsts
  • Elementary Level (1-4 Elementary Conservatory courses)

Grades 4-5

  • RQF / EQF – ABRSM Level 2 Certificate in Music Performance (Grade 4)
  • GCSE (grade A * – C and 9 – 4)
  • Functional Skills Level 2
  • BTEC Firsts
  • Intermediate Level (1-3 Professional Conservatory courses)

Grades 6-8

  • RQF / EQF – ABRSM Level 3 Certificate in Music Performance (Grade 6)
  • AS and A Level 
  • BTEC Nationals
  • Advanced Level (4-6 Professional Conservatory courses)


  • RQF / EQF- ABRSM Level 4 Diploma in Music Performance
  • Higher National Certificates
  • Higher Education Certificates


  • RQF / EQF – ABRSM Level 6 Diploma in Music Performance
  • Bachelor’s degree
  • ‘Grado superior’


  • RQF / EQF – ABRSM Level 7 Diploma in Music Performance
  • Master’s degree
  • Postgraduate diplomas
  • PGCE

Contact Us

If you would like more information about piano lessons, please fill out the contact form below.

Alternatively, you can enroll using the registration form at https://markstawmanpiano.com/contact/

Copyright 2022 © All rights reserved